The Three Levels of Reiki

What might be a lesser-known thing about Reiki is that there are actually 3 different levels to it in terms of training. This sort of knowledge is very useful for those who are seeking the services of a reiki practitioner, so you can pick out the perfect one for your specific and unique healing needs.

Let’s go over the three levels of Reiki training. I’ll give an explanation for each one so you can better understand what you will want to look out for when you seek the services of a Reiki practitioner. If you are someone who is looking to practice Reiki yourself, what you should know is that it is true that select components of each level of training are “standardized” and Reiki masters are all unique in how they choose to teach them.

Also, the length of time each type of training varies in this way as well. The first two levels or degrees of Reiki training can take place over, say, a weekend to a few weeks or even months. However, the third degree of training, also known as the Reiki Master level, will usually require months of work due to its more intensive nature.

1st degree

The initiation into Reiki stage, the 1st degree of Reiki training is also known as Reiki I as well as Shoden in Japanese. This is open to all kinds of people and is the degree of Reiki training you could consider “entry-level.” So what does 1st degree Reiki training or Shodedn entail? With this kind of training, practitioners are educated on the history of Reiki, are taught to perform Reiki on both the self and another person, and are attuned or initiated to the Reiki energy for the rest of their lives. Many masters will tell you that the goal of this level of training is self-Reiki. This degree of training doesn’t make a Reiki practitioner yet. 

2nd degree

The 2nd degree of Reiki training is also known as Reiki II as well as Okuden in Japanese. When a practitioner reaches the 2nd degree of Reiki training, they are taught how to employ the first three Reiki symbols. They also learn how to do distant Reiki techniques on top of gaining even more attunement to the Reiki energy as a whole. Once you pass the 2nd degree of Reiki training, you can finally consider yourself an actual Reiki practitioner.

3rd degree

Finally, the 3rd degree of Reiki training is also referred to as, of course, Reiki III, or Shinpiden in Japanese. Shinpiden is what we consider the Master Teacher level of training in Reiki. Typically, the class is divided up into two separate parts. During this 3rd degree of Reiki training, students earn the attunement level of Master Reiki as well as receive education on the usage of the Master Reiki symbol. They are also taught to give the Reiki attunement to other people. There is however a distinction between Reiki Master and Third Degree: some of those who receive the master attunement may not feel comfortable with attuning others.


The Three Levels of Reiki Training

The 3 Levels Of Reiki: What Are They & What Do They Mean?

Comments are closed.